We have released a change to the way roles function in the platform and this article is going to walk through what the change is and what you should do as a result. 


New Permissions Breakdown


Up until now there has been a single permission (Team Member & Roles) that granted access to Team Members, Roles and Retention policies.  These have now been broken out into 3 seperate permissions. 


  • Team Members - This permission allows users to create, update, and delete Team Members.
  • Roles - This permission allows users to create, update, and delete Roles
  • Retention - This permission allows users to modify retention policies and Data Manager Forms.




What you need to do


New accounts will include a new Role "Account Owner" this is the only role that has manager permission for Team Member, Roles, and Retention policies. 


For existing accounts there will be no change. All roles will continue to have the same access as they did previously. 


We strongly advise current customers to review the existing permissions of team members and current role configurations - in particular as they relate to Data Retention manager permission since you are authorising those users to store data on your behalf.


If any Team Members or Roles need to be modified, you can follow the steps below


Modify Roles


For more information on Roles check out this article.


IMPORTANT: 


You will need to be in a role that has permission to modify Roles in order to add, edit and delete Roles.


Step 1 - Open the Roles menu in your account and click the edit button on the Role you would like to change. 



Step 2 - Select the new permissions you would like your Role to have and click save.


Note: The most important permission that can be granted is Manager for Roles. If a Team Member is granted this permission they are then able to change any Role and give themselves any permission. We encourage customers to create their own Account Owner role which contains Roles and Retention Policy manger permissions. Allowing only authorised Team Members to have access to this role. This would prevent any other users from modifying Retention policies, Roles, and Data Manager forms. 




Modify Team Member


For more information on Team Members check out this article.


IMPORTANT: 


You will need to be in a role that has permission to modify Team Members in order to add, edit and delete Team Members.


Step 1 - Open the Team Member menu in your account and click the edit button on the Team Member you would like to change.  




Step 2 - Select the new Role you would like your Team Member to use and click save.





Get Help


If you have any question or would like assistance with updating your Team Members or Roles please contact us via this support portal or email support@oneblink.io. We are happy to assist in any way we can.